DANIEL FAST FRIENDLY VEGAN ROASTED FRESH TOMATO SOUP

Well that title is a mouthful – but just wanted to make sure you understood the reason for this post. I may post recipes from time to time that I come across while fasting. I am not a natural cook – meaning I often use a recipe once or twice before I am comfortable with it and can start adjusting the flavours (my husband is a natural and am super impressed with people that can make something without a step-by-step!). Google is my friend and has helped me find many a recipe, especially while fasting. The Daniel Fast is a strict fast where Daniel ate only food from seed and water to drink for 3 weeks. I have completed this fast 2-3 times a year since 2009, so I’ve had some experience with it. Now I’ve done variations of this fast, but mostly stick to the basics. Since he ate “no pleasure food” I try not to focus too much on extravagent fast-friendly recipes [because they are out there] and try mostly to stick to simple food… not saying it’s wrong, just a personal choice. That being said, when i’m also cooking dinner for my family I try to make it more interesting then just roasted yam and zucchini… [one of my favorites!] that way it encourages participation. Of course, their’s usually includes a side of meat…

Anyways, on to the recipe….

20130921-133201.jpg

Just made my first daniel-fast-friendly tomato soup from scratch. Found a super easy recipe online from Vegangela.com. Instead of using cilantro as a garnish (which was super yummy), basil and oregano would also work! Didn’t take long, the house smelled awesome, and was filling. Completely vegan with no added sugar/sweetener.

Should freeze well so would be great to make a huge batch and freeze for those cold winter months!

You can find the recipe here:
http://www.vegangela.com/2011/04/15/roasted-fresh-tomato-soup/

4 thoughts on “DANIEL FAST FRIENDLY VEGAN ROASTED FRESH TOMATO SOUP

  1. Hi! Thanks for the shout-out! The soup freezes very well. I almost always double (or triple) the batch and freeze it for later. And I agree – the smell of the tomatoes, onion and garlic roasting is almost reason enough to make this soup. Again, thanks for the link back to my site!

  2. Pingback: DANIEL FAST FRIENDLY VEGAN COCONUT CHICKPEA CURRY | A Daughter's Prayer

  3. Pingback: The Daniel Cure, by Susan Gregory and Dr. Richard J. Bloomer | Teaching My Baby To Read

Leave a Reply

